How Many Ice Age Movies Are There and How to Watch Them in the Correct Order?

Ice Age is a beloved franchise that has captured the hearts of many with its adventurous nature and lighthearted humor. With a diverse cast of comedic geniuses and a compelling storyline, watching all the Ice...

Ice Age is a beloved franchise that has captured the hearts of many with its adventurous nature and lighthearted humor. With a diverse cast of comedic geniuses and a compelling storyline, watching all the Ice Age movies in order is an experience you don't want to miss. In this article, we will dive into the world of Ice Age and discover the correct chronological order to watch these movies.

There are Six Ice Age Movies in Total

The Ice Age franchise consists of six movies, each filled with exciting adventures and lovable characters. Additionally, there is a spin-off TV show called Scrat Tales, which focuses on the misadventures of Scrat, the fan-favorite squirrel. While there are also animated short films related to Ice Age, we will primarily focus on the main movies that form the core of the franchise.

Ice Age Movies in the Correct Chronological Order

To fully immerse yourself in the Ice Age universe, it is important to watch the movies in the correct order. Here is the chronological order of the Ice Age movies:

1) Ice Age (March 15, 2002)

Ice Age, the first film in the franchise, takes place during a time when the Earth was approaching the Ice Age. When Manny the mammoth, Sid the sloth, and Diego the saber-toothed tiger come across a stranded human baby, they embark on an epic journey to reunite him with his family. This movie introduces us to the charming and hilarious cast of characters, including the voices of Ray Romano, John Leguizamo, Chris Wedge, and Denis Leary. Ice Age was a commercial success, earning $176 million at the box office and receiving critical acclaim.

2) Ice Age: The Meltdown (March 31, 2006)

In this sequel, the adventures of Sid, Manny, and Diego continue as they discover that the supposed ice wall they lived under is actually a dam holding back a massive amount of water. As Manny grapples with the idea of being the last mammoth, a new member joins the group - Ellie, a female mammoth who believes she is a possum. They must prepare for survival when the dam breaks. With an ensemble cast that includes Ray Romano, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary, and Queen Latifah, Ice Age: The Meltdown grossed $195 million and further cemented the franchise's popularity.

3) Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (July 1, 2009)

Taking place after the events of the previous movie, Dawn of the Dinosaurs introduces a new character, Buck, a one-eyed deranged weasel. With Manny and Ellie expecting their first child, Sid fears being left behind and attempts to create his own makeshift family by stealing dinosaur eggs. Manny and Buck then set out on a quest to rescue Sid from the dangers of the dinosaur world. This movie received positive reviews and became the highest-grossing Ice Age film, earning $196 million at the box office.

4) Ice Age: Continental Drift (July 13, 2012)

Continental Drift takes place 16 years after the previous movie, with Manny being overprotective of his now grown-up daughter. The gang's attempt to survive leads them to be captured by a group of pirates. They must find a way to escape and reunite with their loved ones. This film introduces new characters and features a star-studded cast, including Ray Romano, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary, Nicki Minaj, and Drake. It garnered commercial success, grossing $161 million.

5) Ice Age: Collision Course (July 22, 2016)

In this installment, Manny's daughter, Peaches, is getting married to a mammoth named Julian. However, Scrat's pursuit of acorns leads to a cosmic event that puts Earth in danger. The gang must come together to save the day as they venture into the possibilities of outer space. Despite its stellar cast, including Ray Romano, Simon Pegg, and Queen Latifah, Collision Course received mixed reviews but still managed to gross $64 million.

6) The Ice Age Adventures of Buck Wild (January 28, 2022)

This film serves as a spin-off from the main storyline and centers around Buck, the one-eyed weasel, and the opossum brothers, Crash and Eddie. Together, they embark on a mission to save the Lost World from being taken over by dinosaurs, particularly a Protoceratops named Orson. The Ice Age Adventures of Buck Wild received negative reviews but still captivated fans with its humorous moments. Due to the pandemic, the movie was released exclusively on Disney Plus and not in theaters.


The Ice Age movies have brought joy to audiences of all ages, and watching them in the correct order allows you to fully appreciate the evolving storyline and character development. Although the last few movies have received mixed reviews, the franchise's success and popularity continue to resonate with fans worldwide. Whether you are a longtime fan or new to the Ice Age world, grab some popcorn and immerse yourself in these delightful adventures.

Ice Age movies in order Ice Age movies in order (Images via IMDb and Amazon)